Grant Select Added to Library Databases
United Way of Greater Lafayette and the Community Foundation of Greater Lafayette launched the GrantSelect database by Schoolhouse Partners in both the Tippecanoe County Public Library and West Lafayette Public Library Friday, August 10, 2012.
GrantSelect is a database that provides grant seekers with a directory of funders that support projects from lab research to youth programs or operation grants for non-profits.
"GrantSelect is a robust resource that allows grant seekers access to federal, state and private funding sources in one database," said Greg Kapp, President and CEO of the Community Foundation of Greater Lafayette. "More than 16,000 funding opportunities are now available to public library patrons by using their unique library account numbers."
United Way of Greater Lafayette and the Community Foundation of Greater Lafayette provided funding to make the database available to local library patrons for one year with hopes of bringing new resources to Tippecanoe County and creating more opportunities for collaboration.
"Providing an avenue for organizations to acquire resources from funders outside of Tippecanoe County is important because there is so much great work happening in our community, but local dollars are limited," said James Taylor, Chief Executive Officer, United Way of Greater Lafayette. "GrantSelect has potential to open new doors for those seeking funding in our community. We hope the community will share their successes with us as they secure funding through this database. "
About United Way of Greater Lafayette - United Way improves our community by focusing on education, income and health. We bring people, organizations and resources together to deliver results. You can give, advocate and volunteer. Join us and Live United.
About the Community Foundation of Greater Lafayette - The Community Foundation of Greater Lafayette, established in 1970, serves the Tippecanoe County area. Its mission is to inspire, nurture, and practice philanthropy, stewardship, and leadership in the communities served. More than 145 charitable funds totaling $33.5 million in assets make up The Community Foundation. During its history over $13.8 million has been granted to not-for-profit organizations, primarily in Greater Lafayette. In 2011, not-for-profit organizations and individuals received grants and scholarships totaling over $959,915. Over half of the grant awards to not-for-profit organizations were for much-needed operating expenses, but many grants were for those one-time capital expenses that nonprofits struggle to fund and desperately need. An Annual Report is available electronically. For additional information, visit www.cfglaf.org or call (765) 742-9078.